Nut and Seed Bread – paleo and dairy free

From A Tasty Love Story

DSC_0628

DSC_0669

DSC_0639

I saw this post one afternoon and wondered, would this type of bread be any good?  I am all for healthy foods, but no flour?  Mostly nuts?  I like my healthy food to taste like I’m not eating healthy food, and this did not sound like it to me.  I was a bit of a skeptic.  I decided to give it a try anyway, and boy am I glad I did.  I adore this bread.  I feel good about eating this bread.  It’s like a little lunch time treat.  Added bonus – it’s so quick and easy to make.  Myla and I topped it with some apricot spread and it is just heavenly!  I like the strong tart flavor of apricots along with the nutty heartiness of this bread, but I suspect your favorite fruit butter or spread would work lovely here, as well.  Or perhaps some ricotta and honey, or a simple dash of cinnamon.

DSC_0647

DSC_0650

Yield:  1 loaf

Nut & seed bread a’ la Jonas 

Ingredients

3 cups almonds, walnuts, pecans, hazelnuts etc. use two or more (I used walnuts, pecans, and almonds)

1 1/2 cup seeds sunflower, flaxseeds, pumpkinseeds etc. use two or more (I used these three)

5 eggs (you can substitute 2 of the eggs for 4 egg whites, for higher protein)

1/3 cup oil, whatever you prefer (I used olive oil)

A pinch of salt

1 Tbsp honey (optional)

Directions

Preheat oven to 325 °F.  Grind seeds, and half of the nuts to flour-like structure. Chop the other half of the nuts a little less refined.  In a bowl combine all of the ingredients and stir well together.  Pour batter into a loaf pan lined with parchment paper.  Bake in oven for 50 min-1 hr.  Let it cool before removing from the pan.

-The bread keeps moist and delicious up to a week in the fridge. You can easily freeze it as well.

Published by

girlkneadsbread

My adventures with bread and the deliciousness of life.

Leave a Reply

